7 ways to come back to yourself

Life is stressful sometimes, and there are going to be instances where you don’t feel like yourself. I’m currently in the midst of college midterms and lately I feel like I’m in a completely different universe than everyone else. I’m so far away from everyone, including myself, that I just want to sit in my apartment and wrap myself under my blankets and hide. Once I get through this week, and my spring break begins, I plan on taking time to come back to myself (and feel like a functioning person of society instead of a zombie walking around trying to accomplish everything on my checklist).

Here is my list of ways to come back to yourself when you feel like you will never know who you are ever again.

  1. Take a hot bath: Sylvia Path once said, “There must be quite a few things that a hot bath won’t cure, but I don’t know many of them.” Make this bath the most relaxing time of your life. Light some candles, play some Jack Johnson or whatever music soothes your soul, use a bath bomb or bubbles or essential oils (lavender is great for relieving stress). Try to clear your mind of things you usually think about and just enjoy this time for you.
  2. Cook your favorite meal: I know when I’m busy and stressed I usually just grab something on campus or on the street to hold me over until I get hungry again. Food is a vital part of how our bodies/brains feel and function, and when we’re mindlessly eating it can alter our mood. Go home and cook something healthy and delicious that you know you love. Check out Pinterest if you’re stumped or pull out a cookbook if you like to kick it old school. Reenergizing with food is easy and it doesn’t have to be elaborate.
  3. Call someone you love: Don’t text them, actually call them and hear their voice. I know that it definitely helps me to hear another human’s voice, especially one that I know well and recognize. Human’s tend to be comforted by familiarity, so call up your mom or your best friend or whoever else is important to you.
  4. Write: I’m a huge journal freak, and the power writing has on us is incredible. If you’re not comfortable with speaking to someone else about the way you feel, or you just don’t know how you feel, writing it all down helps so much (write it down even if you talked to someone else about it). You don’t even have to write real sentences, or real words for that matter, just write until you feel there’s nothing else for you to say.
  5. Clean: Okay some of you are probably thinking, “I’m trying to relax and calm down so why on earth would I do chores?” I personally am the messiest person ever, but I noticed when I have things organized and tidy I can concentrate more on other things. Having a clean space is just one less stressful thing you will have to deal with.
  6. Meditate: This one can be tricky when you have a racing mind, but just sitting down and giving yourself five minutes to do nothing but breathe can do wonders. If you aren’t sure how to meditate, go out and get some books on the subject or look it up on the internet, just make sure your sources are reliable.
  7. Take a look in the mirror: I want you to stand in front of the mirror, look at yourself, and tell yourself that you are exactly where you are supposed to be in life and you will always find your way back. You are perfect. Your stress is only temporary. Everything is going to be ok.
Leave a Reply

